top of page
Writer's pictureMelissa Robbins

Why Do Humans Struggle?

Updated: Mar 24, 2022

I wanted to talk today about this obsession we have as humans to want more, to desire more, to need more. I was asked the question recently that if I had all the money I needed and had accomplished everything I wanted to in life would I still want more? The answer for most people would probably be "Yes." We are born into this world incomplete and imperfect, so we live our lives with this restless desire for something either tangible or intangible to fill this void we have. Most often we look to fill this incompleteness with material things, or if we cannot fill this void, we seek to eradicate it with substances. I believe God put us on this earth to want more, the problem lies when we try to fill this wanting with something that will inevitably hurt us. It happens... a lot of life is about making mistakes, it's about trial and error. I have spent most of my life creating lists of things I need to do and checking them off (you would think I would have accomplished more), all-the-while feeling like this will make me a more complete person; but the truth is, those lists of things to do will always be there, and even when I feel like everything is done and good, I will still find something else to fill that space. I have learned throughout the years to put these lists down for a while and take pleasure in the simple moments that life has to offer. I believe that God gives us these brief moments of perfection as a gift of things to come, as a preview of all the peace and completeness we will know one day. We owe it to God and to ourselves to take these moments and fully immerse ourselves in them. Another thing I have learned recently is that it's OK to not be the smartest person or the prettiest person, or the most popular and its OK to struggle. If we didn't struggle life would be boring, and if we didn't desire more than what would we have to look forward to? I have also learned to feel at peace with who I am and where I'm at in life and there's a sense of relief knowing that life isn't about finishing the race, but about enjoying the journey along the way. If we don't enjoy the journey, we miss out on a lot that life has to offer. We can be at peace and content with where we are, while also desiring more. It's a balance that is not always easy but that's life. Just a few thoughts to fill your weekend 😊 Feel free to share your thoughts and comments below!


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page