top of page

What Work Environment Do You Thrive In?

This year has thrown us curve balls of epic proportions, one of which is stepping away from our typical day job and working from the comfort of our own home. How are you coping with this change? I've met both types of people: those who absolutely love not having to get up early, put on a suit and tie, dress and heels, and sit in traffic; while others tell me that working from home is driving them crazy! This year has been a great time to step back and figure out what type of person you are. It's easy to get stuck in a routine that has become such a regular function in our life that we never really take the time to ask ourselves if we really enjoy the work we do. The mundane activities of our life can make it hard to know what gives us meaning, makes us feel most alive, and what really gets us excited about waking up in the morning. Personally, I like a good balance of both. Working full time with people can be exhausting for me as dominant type-A personalities wear me down and make me feel inferior in the workplace. This Imposter syndrome, can make it nearly impossible to advance in a professional setting, where a lack of confidence and self-worth overcome my ability to move up in the workplace. One of the reasons I feel this way is because, as an introvert, I am constantly being talked-over and wrongly analyzed by those on the opposite side of the spectrum, while also not being taken seriously enough and/or giving a chance to excel and learn new things at work. There were numerous occasions in my last job where I applied for positions that would allow me to advance from my current position into a position that would allow me to learn new things and become more of an asset; but managers continued to hire people from the outside, people who didn't know the building, the employees, or the residents. For these reasons, I felt underappreciated and undervalued, which didn't help my imposter syndrome. Because of situations like this, a mix of working from home and working with people fits in well with my personality and helps me maintain a healthy work/life balance. I also find that working with people for 40 hours a week trumps my creativity. As an introvert, I need time alone to refresh and recharge my batteries, while extroverts really thrive on the fast-paced environment of working with other people. You can see how these two personalities will cope differently in different work environments, and especially when working from home. What type of personality are you? When businesses open up again will you ask your boss if you can continue to work from home, or do you thrive in a fast-paced/team oriented work environment? Share your thoughts in the comments below!


73 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page