top of page

Does Chronic Pain Define You... Reclaim Your Identity!

Updated: May 15, 2022

I Realized last night as I was running along the Tumwater Falls bridge that I had placed

so much of my identity in my running. Running has been the one thing I can turn to that will always make me feel confident, give me a sense of accomplishment, instant satisfaction and help me through whatever thing I'm struggling with at the time. I had to force myself to think about what I would do if I could no longer do this activity that has been a huge part of my life for the past 20 years. It hasn't been easy to accept that one day I might have to give it up, and wonder what I would have left... What would my life look like without this and how would I replace the runners high? Chronic pain is a terrible thing to live in; I say 'live in'

because thats how much it can overtake your life. When you live with chronic pain, it's all you think about. It surrounds you, engulfs you, and drowns out the good things. I've seen people I care about living with chronic pain, and it hurts when I see them going through it and can't do a thing to help. My mom has endured chronic back pain most of her life, and it hurt to see her in so much pain. It wasn't until I started massage school that I became so aware of how it feels to live in pain and how it looks on others; I also became aware that most people are living in severe pain everyday and just dealing with it.

People living with chronic pain and injuries often turn to drugs to make themselves feel better. I went to the Vitamin Shop the other day and picked up a bunch of Supplements to help rebuild the damaged cartilage and restore my joints. The woman at the counter recommended a few thing that have helped her, as she told me her story and how she used to be a runner; now she lifts weights instead. I'm cringing inside when I think that I might have to resort to lifting weights or take on some other form of exercise instead 😟 It's just not the same... What is something in your life that has defined you but have recently had to give up? Share your story and thoughts... 💭💖


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page