top of page

Snail Mail: Good or Bad?

Happy Monday Everyone! This past week I've been busy with Orientation for my new job working for USPS. My on-boarding experience with USPS has been very different from any other job I've had. Dealing with their application process, taking the assessments, getting in touch with people to schedule my orientation, going through the orientation process, driving test, and job shadowing has been exhausting and stressful to say the least. I've learned a lot through this process, I've challenged myself, faced my fears, and learned a LOT about the stresses of handling mail. Speaking of mail, I thought it would be appropriate to ask all of you what you think about this "dated" form of communication. Can we stay connected without the ability to send our loved ones a card or letter? Do you think that mail-in ballots is a good idea or an opening to commit fraud? Can we survive and stay connected purely through technology? These are questions we are asking ourselves now, especially with all the talk about cutting funding for USPS. One thing I learned through my orientation was that the act of sending something through the mail, something that can be physically touched actually increases business sales. The stack of credit card promotions and other advertisements that come through the mail, and which we appropriately term "junk mail" requires more of a reaction from us than if these company's simply sent ads through email. The act of touching a piece of mail makes us feel involved in the process and demands a reaction. In the same way, receiving a letter or card from someone gives us a feeling of closeness more than an email every could, because when we receive a letter we are able to touch it and see the handwriting of the person, which is unique and cannot be duplicated. What was the last thing you sent or received in the mail? Have you had an experience with a pen pal that uplifted you? Do you think mail is still necessary? Share your thoughts in the comments below!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page